History of the Congregation: Grace & Truth Reformed Presbyterian Church

Grace & Truth Reformed Presbyterian Church is a Mission Church established in the name and by the authority of Jesus Christ through the Presbytery of the Alleghenies, which is an organized group of congregations of the Reformed Presbyterian Church of North America (RPCNA). On June 25th, 2013, the Presbytery of the Alleghenies met during the 2013 RPCNA Synod Meeting and received the core group of families in Harrisonburg, VA as a mission work. This is an excerpt from the minutes:

“The Church Extension Committee recommended the group in Harrisonburg, VA be organized as a Mission Church with the Trinity RPC Session serving as the TGB (temporary governing body). The recommended was approved. Pastor Jerry O’Neill offered prayer establishing the Harrisonburg group as a Mission Church in the name and by the authority of Jesus Christ the King and Head of the Church.”

      The temporary governing body, consisting of Pastor Steve Bradley, Elder David Merkel, Elder Tony Gazo, and Elder Brad Stewart, met as a Session on July 9th, 2013. They decided that Grace & Truth RPC would begin evening worship services at 6:00 pm on the first and third Lord’s Days beginning on August 4th, 2013, at Good Shepherd School, 352 Neff Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA. On the second, fourth, and fifth Lord’s Days, Grace & Truth would meet at 6:00 pm at Good Shepherd School for a time of fellowship and Bible Study.

Grace & Truth RPC has been richly blessed since that time.  God moved within the people a desire for worship services every week in the morning hours.  Therefore, the temporary governing body met as a Session on November 12th, 2013.  And “the TGB approved starting morning worship services on December 8th, (2013) at 11AM, and continue each Sabbath thereafter.”

The next step for the Mission Church is to become a fully-organized congregation by God raising up a Session of elders in Harrisonburg, Virginia, for the oversight of the congregation. Also, there will need to be a Board of Deacons responsible chiefly for the ministry of mercy and stewardship.

Comments are closed.